$500-$1000 Monthly Part Time Income

Who couldn’t use an extra $500-$1000 or more per month?

I’m here to tell you that it’s absolutely possible for you to earn an extra $500 or more each month selling on eBay without any experience or a lot of extra time.

My goal is to share with you three things:

  1.  My Story as a part-time seller.
  2.  Advice on choosing inventory to sell.
  3.  Understanding the numbers and how much money you can make.

My Story

Ten years ago, I was just a regular dude.  I was married with three kids, working a full-time job with the intent of climbing up the ladder at the company I worked for.

One Saturday morning at a garage sale, everything changed for me.

I remember it clearly.  I remember the house, the layout of the garage sale, the woman running the sale and the table that said 50 cents.  On that table were three of the most amazing, beat up and worn Metallica t-shirts I’d ever seen.  The teenage boy in me was freaking out and memories of sitting in my bedroom listening to their music was flowing back to me.

I couldn’t believe the emotion it brought to me and thought to myself, I bet someone would pay decent money for those.  I paid the $1.50 and purchased all three shirts.

I remember going home, getting on eBay and seeing some of the prices that people were asking for old Metallica shirts and was shocked.  Without ever selling on eBay before, I decided to give it a shot.  I ended up selling all three shirts for around $40 apiece and the rest is history.

I was hooked.

We CLEANED out our house and every Pokemon doll, unused video game, extra piece of clothing, toys, etc were all put up for sell on eBay.  It was literally just like having a garage sale online but the money was better.

After we cleaned out our house, I started to become intentional about making money on eBay.  What else could I sell?

I started researching eBay.  What sold?  What could I find locally?  I really was all over the place.  I would go to garage sales or thrift stores and buy a bunch of different stuff.  I bought and sold antiques, games, electronics, art work, clothing, tools, lamps and more.

After a few months I realized that I didn’t know much about antiques, tools, art work, games and so on.  I was trying to sell things that I didn’t have much knowledge on.

What did I have knowledge on?

Sports and Music.

I knew that vintage, rock band t-shirts had value and so did sports jerseys.  I spent more time locked in on those type of items, studying more and more.  I didn’t know much about clothing but always liked old western shirts and vintage clothing.

So I found my inventory baseline…I was looking for vintage, mens clothing with an emphasis on westerns, rock t-shirts and sports inspired gear.

The important thing to note is that it took me awhile to figure out what I wanted to sell.  I had to narrow it down to things I had interest in and things that I could find.  It was a process of elimination.

Today I still love vintage clothing, but my knowledge of the eBay business has expanded so much that it’s not a big part of what I do.  I have included a video that I made when I first started getting serious about selling part-time on eBay.  It’s dramatically different from what I sell today.

eBay, like life, is a journey.

Hard facts:  Before I quit my ‘day job’ and went full-time on eBay, I was making @ $1500 per month as a part-time seller.

What Can I Sell?

Honestly, you can sell almost ANYTHING on eBay.  It can be overwhelming to think about at first and it’s why I shared my story with you.  It took me some time to figure out my path but I was making, part-time, extra income all along the way.

  1.  Start with cleaning out your house and having an online garage sale.  This is the easiest thing you can do to get started.  They say the average house has a minimum of $2000 of extra stuff lying around not being used.   It will help you get familiar with eBay and what things sell for.  It’s also FREE MONEY!  You already own it and don’t need to invest money to sell it.
  2. Start writing down things that interest you or have knowledge about.  What do you like?  What sounds exciting to sell?  What do you know about?  What do you have access to?   Don’t put any limits on it.  You might think, ‘I know about groceries’ but who cares about that?  WRITE IT DOWN.  Certain groceries sell for a ton of money on eBay – seriously. .
  3. Begin to research and study your list.  Use the ‘sold / completed’ listing tool on eBay to research what things sell for.  Type in anything and just educate yourself.  I studied ‘vintage Ralph Lauren’ all the time until I began to understand what to look for.
  4. Download the eBay app on your phone.  Familiarize yourself with how to search using the ‘filter’ options.  I use this app all the time.

These steps will help move you in the right direction towards finding your path as a part-time seller.  Don’t get hung up on trying to find the perfect product to sell.  Just sell and it will come to you.

How much can I make?

For starters, I’m assuming the photography and listing is done correctly.  Without a decent picture and listing, it will alter the numbers I am about to present.

This is as close to reality as I can imagine it to be.  I’m not trying to inflate any numbers but give you an honest opinion of what I see.

There are a couple of questions to ask.  How much do I want to make?  How much time per week can I dedicate to a eBay?.

We will look at two different scenarios and break them down into a month by month earnings over a nine month period.

  1.  Part-time eBay 5-7 hours a week, with the goal of earning @ $500 per month.
  2.  Part-time eBay 10-12 hours a week, with the goal of earning @ $1000 per month.

 


We are going to assume that your average item sells for $15.00.  

We are going to assume that your sell-thru rate is 17.5%. (How much of your store you sell each month as a buy it now or on auction.)  

We are going to assume you spend $2.00 per item in inventory cost.


 

At this point, it doesn’t matter what you are selling, it could be clothing, books, electronics, pizza, post cards or furniture.  We are looking at the averages.

Scenario #1, part-time 5-7 hours a week.

I’m going to ask you to list 60 items a month or 15 items per week.  It should take you 2-3 hours a week to photo and list these items.  There will be additional time spent shipping, answering messages and looking for inventory.  Total time for the week 5-7 hours.

Month 1:

Items listed:  60

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  11

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $165 sold, 49 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $0

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $21.45

Monthly Net:  143.55

Notes:  I’m using the ‘clean the house’ example where no money would be used to purchase inventory in month 1.

 

Month 2:

Items listed:  109 

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  19

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $285 sold, 90 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $37.05

Monthly Net:  97.05

Notes:  I assume that we are purchasing inventory now.  The monthly net went down in month 2 but watch as it grows over the next few months.  The items listed is a combination of what was remaining from the previous month and what was added this month.

 

Month 3:

Items listed:  150

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  26

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $390 total sales, 124 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $50.70

Monthly Net: $219.30

Notes:  We are starting to grow a profit.

 

Month 4:

Items listed:  184

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  32

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $480 sold, 152 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $62.40

Monthly Net:  297.60

 

Month 5:

Items listed:  212

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  37

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $555 sold, 175 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $72.15

Monthly Net:  362.85

 

Month 6:

Items listed:  235

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  41

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $615 sold, 194 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $79.95

Monthly Net:  411.05

 

 

Month 7:

Items listed:  254

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  44

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $660 sold, 210 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $85.80

Monthly Net:  454.20

 

Month 8:

Items listed:  270

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  47

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $705 sold, 223 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $91.65

Monthly Net:  493.35

 

 

Month 9:

Items listed:  283

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  50

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $750 sold, 233 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $120

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $97.50

Monthly Net:  532.50

 

Analysis:  Congratulations!  After nine months you are earning over $500 per month and will continue to earn more each month moving forward.  As you gain more knowledge, your average price will increase and so will your sales.  When I started 8 years ago my average price was $15, now it’s up to $30 and it’s made a major impact on my sales.




Scenario #2, part-time 10-12 hours a week

I’m going to ask you to list 120 items or 30 items per week.  It should take you 4-6 hours a week to photo and list these items. There will be additional time spent shipping, answering messages and shopping for inventory for a combined total of 10-12 hours a week.

Month 1:

Items listed:  120

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  21

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $315 sold, 99 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $0

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $40.95

Monthly Net:  274.05

Notes:  I’m using the ‘clean the house’ example where no money would be used to purchase inventory in month 1.

 

Month 2:

Items listed:  219

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  38

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $570 sold, 181 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $74.10

Monthly Net:  255.90

Notes:  Adding inventory costs back in.

 

Month 3:

Items listed:  301

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  53

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $795 sold, 248 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $103.35

Monthly Net:  451.95

 

Month 4:

Items listed:  368

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  64

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $960 sold, 304 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $124.80

Monthly Net:  595.20

 

Month 5:

Items listed:  424

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  74

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $1110 sold, 350 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $144.30

Monthly Net:  725.70

 

Month 6:

Items listed:  470

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  82

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $1230 sold, 388 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $159.90

Monthly Net:  830.10

 

Month 7:

Items listed:  508

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  89

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $1335 sold, 419 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $173.55

Monthly Net:  921.45

 

Month 8:

Items listed:  539

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  94

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $1410 sold, 445 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $183.30

Monthly Net:  986.70

 

Month 9:

Items listed:  565

Items Sold (17.5% sell thru rate):  99

Average Price:  $15

End of Month 1:  $1485 sold, 466 items remaining in store

Inventory Cost: $240

Ebay / Paypal Fees (@13%):  $193.05

Monthly Net:  1051.95

 

Analysis:  Congratulations!  You just found a part time job from home that pays you over $1000 every month.  Same as the other analysis…change the average price from $15 to $20 and you have a massive pay increase.

 

YOU CAN DO IT!

Thanks for hanging in there and allowing me to nerd out but it’s really about the numbers.  Some months will be better than others and it won’t always fall perfectly in line.  But the outline I presented is based off the law of averages.  There are a number of different scenarios that you can play out but one thing that stays the same no matter what, consistent work over time leads to consistent pay.

There is hard work involved but once you get the hang of it you will be so thankful for giving it a chance.

Please let me know what questions you have about selling part-time.  If you are an existing seller, please add anything that I’m missing that will benefit someone who is considering this for a part-time job.

 




 

 

DES MOINES THRIFT STORE UPDATE:

If you missed the Des Moines thrift experiment, you can read about it here.  Here are the updated totals:

Week of 1/31-2/06:  6 items sold, $205.94 in sales, Average Price – 34.32

Complete Updated Totals:  50 items sold, $1591.84 in sales, Average Price – $31.84

Profit to date:  $1192.31

Items  Remaining:  35

Stay tuned for weekly updates.

2 thoughts on “$500-$1000 Monthly Part Time Income

  1. I know you already know this Jesse, but I too was a part-time seller before quitting my day job for full-time eBay work.

    I started with 7 pairs of women’s jeans from The Buckle that I got off a garage sale for $1 per pair. I made about $200 that first week and was hooked.

    Similar to your story, I sold anything and everything I could get my hands on for a couple years, really settling into selling books and textbooks on Amazon. About 10 years ago, the market was really, really good for them and I even ended up buying books locally in my college bookstore to resell on Amazon.

    After I got married, my wife built the clothing end of things up – first at about $1,000 per month in sales to over $5k per month gross by the time I quit my day job.

    It’s doable, but the one piece of advice I could give anyone is to plan ahead and ease into this. It’s not easy to just start day one with no sales history, no experience with what will sell and try to make a full-time go of it. I think success could be had in that circumstance, but you’ve really built a high wall to climb over to get there. I think it makes a ton of sense to spend some of your spare time building an eBay business as a side hustle. Reading blogs, researching sold items, visiting thrift stores locally & garage sales will really help. There are also considerable hurdles setting up your account and getting through the selling limits / funds withholding that eBay and Paypal do now to combat fraud. It’s a climb, but there are also a ton of resources available — like this blog — and veteran sellers that are happy to help out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

